Aiming to foster and promote unity and harmony among volunteer fire departments throughout Indiana

Ollie Sandberg Award Nomination

This award is presented in memory of Mr. Ollie Sandberg, who was a very active member of the Prairieton Volunteer Fire Department.

This award is a handsome walnut plaque with the state of Indiana outline carved into it. The top half of the state carries a clock movement and the lower toe carries a brass fireman’s head.

The award is being given to honor those people who work a little harder than the others on their department to improve the fire service, their community and to promote the Indiana Volunteer Firefighter’s Association.


  • Application or letter on behalf of the nominee to be submitted to the IVFA awards chairman. (Vice President of the IVFA)
  • Nominee must be a PAID current member of the IVFA
  • Nominee cannot be a state officer of the IVFA or the IVFAA
  • Application or nominating letter must be in the hands of the committee by February 1
  • Award will be presented at the IVFA Convention
  • The Awards Committee will select the winner
  • Winner need not be present at the convention to receive the award
  • Winner to be recognized in his or her local area by a news release from the committee

Please nominate a worthy candidate below.